Open Access Open Access  Restricted Access Subscription or Fee Access

Multidimensional Currents Control Systems of Induction Motor Electric Drives

(*) Corresponding author

Authors' affiliations



The structure of multidimensional current controllers of induction motors is considered. A mathematical model of the currents control system of wound-rotor induction motor with two-sided control is shown. The building of model is based on the account of saturation effect of the machine on the main magnetic path. The tasks and simulation results of currents control systems are described. It is shown, that under fast changing of setpoints on the inputs of currents control system it is necessary to account the saturation of magnetic field during the controllers synthesis. The increasing of noncompensated time constant leads to current controller loses the ability to compensate the influence of external disturbance. The dynamics of the currents controller system is illustrated by the transients graphs under step responses on control and disturbance actions. The basic conclusions are made based on the results of numerical experiments.
Copyright © 2015 Praise Worthy Prize - All rights reserved.


Induction Motor Electric Drives; Multidimensional Currents Control Systems; Wound-Rotor Induction Motor with Two-Sided Control; Frequency Controlled Electric Drive; Current Controller

Full Text:



Blaschke F. Das Prinzip der Feldorientierung die Grundlage für die TRANSVEKTOR-Regelung von Drehfeldmaschinen / F. Blaschke // Siemens-Zeitschrift. 1971. Bd. 45, H. 10. S, pp 757–760.

Flöter W. Die Transvektor-Regelung für den feldorientierten Betrieb einer Asynchronmaschine / W. Flöter, H. Ripperger // Siemens-Zeitschrift. 1971. Bd. 45 – H. 10. S, pp 761 – 764.

Polyakov, V.N., Shreiner, R.T. Optimizing steady motor operation / Russian Electrical Engineering. Volume 76, (Issue 9), 2005, pp 20-24.

Aaltonen M. Direckt Torkue Control of AC motor drives / M. Aaltonen, P. Tiitinen, J. Lalu, S. Heikkilä // ABB Review. 1995. № 3, pp 19–24.

Vas P. Sensorless Vector and Direct Torque Control. – (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1998).

Mirzaei, H., Alizadeh Pahlavani, M., Naderi, P., The Direct Torque Control of BLDC motor in the modes without flux control and by using flux control, (2013) International Review on Modelling and Simulations (IREMOS), 6 (3), pp. 774-781..

Abid, A., Ben Hamed, M., Sbita, L., Multimodel modeling of doubly fed induction motor, (2014) International Review on Modelling and Simulations (IREMOS), 7 (2), pp. 238-244.

A. Weinger. “The generalization of the principle of subordinate regulation with series correction” (Russian). USSR Academy of Sciences Transactions. Technical Cybernetics, 1977, № 1, pp 185-192.

A. Weinger (co-auth.). “On the scope of controlled electrical drive with synchronous motor” (Russian). Electrichestvo, 1971, № 10, pp 60-64.

A. Weinger. “The controlled synchronous drive” (Russian). Moscow: (Energoatomizdat, 1985), 224 p.

A. Weinger. “Perspectives for subordinate control systems of electrical drives” (Russian). Electrotechnica, 1996, № 4, pp. 41-47.

A. Weinger. “Energy regimes of high-power high-dynamic synchronous drive”. IEEE International Electric Machines and Drives Conference. June 17-20, 2001, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA, pp. 945-947.

Immonen, P., Ruuskanen, V., Nerg, J., Pyrhonen, J., Inductance saturation of the induction machine as a function of stator voltage and load with steady state AC magnetic finite element solver, (2014) International Review on Modelling and Simulations (IREMOS), 7 (3), pp. 450-456.

Borodin, M.Y., Polyakov, V.N. Optimization of modes of electric drive with generalized AC motor / Russian Electrical Engineering. Volume 80, (Issue 9), September 2009, pp 511-516.

Polyakov, V.N. The dynamics of electromagnetic torque control system in electric drive with double-fed asynchronous machine // Russian Electrical Engineering, volume 85, (Issue 9) September 2014, pp 549-553.


  • There are currently no refbacks.

Please send any question about this web site to
Copyright © 2005-2023 Praise Worthy Prize