Hierarchical Energy and Delay Aware MAC Protocol for Wireless Sensor Networks

(*) Corresponding author

Authors' affiliations

DOI's assignment:
the author of the article can submit here a request for assignment of a DOI number to this resource!
Cost of the service: euros 10,00 (for a DOI)


In wireless sensor networks, the synchronized scheduling mechanism increases the flooding thereby resulting in energy wastage and minimum throughput. Also the transmission delay during routing enhances the energy consumption. In order to overcome these issues, in this paper we propose a hierarchical energy aware MAC along with delay aware routing in wireless sensor networks. In this technique, the node with higher weight value is chosen as cluster head based on the parameters such as residual energy and transmission delay. The cluster based hierarchical tree architecture is constructed that defines the cluster level based on the delay. When any cluster member node wants to transmit the data to the sink, it executes the delay aware MAC protocol. During data transmission less delay cluster members are utilized to transmit the data packets. The cluster members with higher delay are assigned sleep mode. By simulation results, we show that the proposed approach reduces the energy utilization and improves the link quality.
Copyright © 2013 Praise Worthy Prize - All rights reserved.


Wireless Sensor Networks; MAC Protocol; Routing Protocols

Full Text:



Seapahn Megerian, Farinaz Koushanfar, Miodrag Potkonjak, Mani B. Srivastava: “Worst and Best-Case Coverage in Sensor Networks”, IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing. 4(1): 84-92 (2005).

John A. Stankovic, “Wireless Sensor Networks”, University of Virginia, June 19, 2006.

F. L. LEWIS, “Wireless Sensor Networks”, Smart Environments: Technologies, Protocols, and Applications, John Wiley New York, 2004.

I.F. Akyildiz, W. Su, Y. Sankarasubramaniam, and E. Cayirci, “Wireless sensor networks: a survey”, Elsevier, Computer Networks 38 Page No: 393–422, 2002.

Koteswararao Seelam, Dr.M.Sailaja and Dr T.Madhu,” An Adaptive Power control and Energy efficient MAC Protocol for Wireless Sensor Networks”, (2009).

Yanjun Sun Shu Du Omer Gurewitz and David B. Johnson,” DW-MAC: A Low Latency, Energy Efficient Demand-Wakeup MAC Protocol for Wireless Sensor Networks”, MobiHoc’08, May 26–30, 2008.

Qian Zhang and Ya-Qin Zhang, “Cross Layer Design for QoS support in Multihop Wirelss Networks”, IEEE Vol.96 No.1 January 2008.

Berta Carballido Villaverde, Susan Rea and Dirk Pesch,” Multi-Objective Cross-Layer Algorithm for Routing over Wireless Sensor Networks”, 2007.

Shuguang Cui, Ritesh Madan, Andrea Goldsmith, and Sanjay Lall,” Cross-layer Energy Minimization in TDMA-based Sensor Networks”, Allerton Conference on Communication, Control, and Computing, 2004.

Dr.R.K.Singh, Jayant Vats, Vishal Sharma and Shivani Sharma,” International Journal of Advanced Research in Computer Science and Software Engineering”, Volume 2, Issue 1, January 2012.

Farid Nait-Abdesselam, Brahim Bensaou, Thomas Soete and Ka-Lok Hung,” O-MAC: An Organized Energy-Aware MAC Protocol for Wireless Sensor Networks”, IEEE Communications Society, 2007.

Md. Mamun-or-Rashid, Muhammad Mahbub Alam and Choong Seon Hong,” Energy Conserving Passive Clustering for Efficient Routing in Wireless Sensor Network”, MOEHRD KRF – 521-D00394 (2006).

Gang Lu and Bhaskar Krishnamachari,” Energy Efficient Joint Scheduling and Power Control for Wireless Sensor Networks”, IEEE 0-7803-9012-1/05 (2005).

Jayanthi K. Murthy, Suthikshn Kumar and Srinivas A,” Energy Efficient Scheduling in Cross Layer Optimized Clustered Wireless Sensor Networks”, International Journal of Computer Science and Communication Vol. 3, No. 1, pp. 149-153, 2012.

Liqi Shi, Student Member, IEEE, and Abraham O. Fapojuwo,” TDMA Scheduling with Optimized Energy Efficiency and Minimum Delay in Clustered Wireless Sensor Networks”, IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing, VOL. 9, Number 7, July, 2010.

Edmund M. Yeh and Thierry E. Klein, “Optimal Trade-off between Energy Efficiency and Average Delay”, WiOpt03, Sophia-Antipolis, France March 3-5 2003.

Chilukuri Shanti and Anirudha Sahoo, “DGRAM: A Delay Guaranteed Routing and MAC Protocol forWireless Sensor Networks”, IEEE, 978-1-4244-2100-8/08 (2008).

Shi Bai, Weiyi Zhang, Guoliang Xue, Jian Tang and Chonggang Wang, “DEAR: Delay-bounded Energy-constrained Adaptive Routing in Wireless Sensor Networks”, IEEE, 978-1-4673-0775-8 (2012).

Shuguang Cui, Ritesh Madan, Andrea J. Goldsmith, and Sanjay Lall, “Energy-Delay Tradeoffs for Data Collection in TDMA-based Sensor Networks”, IEEE, 2005.

Todd Coleman and Muriel M´edard, “Trade-off Between Power Consumption and Delay in Wireless Packetized Systems”, 2001.

Wei YE, John HEIDEMANN and Deborah ESTRIN, “An Energy-Efficient MAC Protocol for Wireless Sensor Networks”, Wireless Sensor Network, 1, 1-69, 2008.

S. Saqaeeyan and M. Roshanzadeh, “IEATH: Improved Energy Aware and Two Hop Multipath Routing Protocol in Wireless Sensor Networks”, I. J. Computer Network and Information Security, 5, 22-28, 2012.

Soumya Ray, Subhasis Dash, Nachiketa Tarasia, Anuja Ajay, Amulya Ratan Swain, “Congestion-less Energy Aware Token Based MAC Protocol Integrated with Sleep Scheduling for Wireless Sensor Networks”, Proceedings of the World Congress on Engineering, Vol II, July 6-8 (2011).

Vinh Tran Quang and Takumi, “ Adaptive Routing protocol with energy efficiency and event clustering for wireless sensor networks”, IEICE Transactions on Communications, Volume E91.B, Issue 9, pp. 2795-2805, 2010.

K S Shivaprakasha, Muralidhar Kulkarni, Energy Efficient Routing Protocols for Wireless Sensor Networks: a Survey, (2011) International Review on Computers and Software (IRECOS), 6 (6), pp. 929-943.

Ali Hassoune M., Mekkakia Z., LAT-MAC: A Latency Energy Aware MAC Protocol for Wireless Sensor Networks, (2010) International Review on Computers and Software (IRECOS), 5 (3), pp. 276-280.

Network Simulator: http:///www.isi.edu/nsnam/ns


  • There are currently no refbacks.

Please send any question about this web site to info@praiseworthyprize.com
Copyright © 2005-2024 Praise Worthy Prize