Calculating the Speed Training of a Sphere in Fluid Flow

(*) Corresponding author

Authors' affiliations

DOI's assignment:
the author of the article can submit here a request for assignment of a DOI number to this resource!
Cost of the service: euros 10,00 (for a DOI)


In this article, we are interested in the equation of a solid particle trained in a Poiseuille flow type. The model used in the literature includes integro-differential equations which were treated numerically. It is noticed that the difficulty in these equations comes from the force of history which is expressed like a kernel integral, type of Abel. While using an expression of the integral equation of Abel, we solve the equation of the sphere analytically. The final result is that the exact solution can be substituted for the approximate solution obtained previously by other authors
Copyright © 2013 Praise Worthy Prize - All rights reserved.


Particle; Fluid; Integral of Abel

Full Text:



Juaneda. Contribution à l’étude des forces hydrodynamiques. Thèse, Institut de mécanique des Fluides de Toulouse (2006).

F.Feuillebois.& A.Lasek. Boundary layer on a sphere accelerating from rest. Proceedings of the BAIL1 conference.

Auton. The dynamics of bubbles and particles in motion liquids, PhD Thesis, University of Cambridge (1983).

Auton. The lift force on a spherical body in a rotational flow, Journal of Fluid Mechanic. 183 (1987).

Magnaudet. Accelerated flows past a rigid sphere or a spherical bubble. J. F. Mech, 284 (1995).

Naciri. Contribution à l’étude des forces exercées par un liquide, PhD Thesis, Ecole Centrale de Lyon (1992).

Thorncroft, Klasner & Mei. Bubble forces and detachment models. Multiphase Science and Technology, 13 (2001).

Yang & Leal. A note on memory intrgral contributions to the forces. Phys. Fluids, A3 (1991).

Gorenflo & Vessella. Abel integral equations:Analysis and Applications. Springer-Verlag; Berlin-New York 1991.


  • There are currently no refbacks.

Please send any question about this web site to
Copyright © 2005-2024 Praise Worthy Prize